The First Week on the Job

Well, I am finally settled here in Grand Junction and it has been a wonderful experience so far.  I am sharing a rental close to the internship site with another DOE intern.  She’s great; she is a graduate student from Texas and we are getting along pretty well.  The rental that this internship program acquired for Cherylin and myself is FANTASTIC!   It is actually a model home.

Check out the kitchen!  My jaw dropped when I stepped into this place.  My roommate and I both couldn’t believe that we would be spending the next two months here.  We are very fortunate.  I won’t want to leave when this internship ends!

My first week at work went very well.  I finally met the people I had been talking to over the phone for the past couple of weeks.  Everyone is happy that Cherylin and I will be spending the summer with them.  The first day of work consisted of getting settled into my office (yes, my very own office…wow), meeting the federal employees and contractors, obtaining badges, completing computer training, and attending the weekly ice cream social.  The next day my supervisor briefed us on activities for June and July and expectations for our selected term projects.  I am still researching the focus of my term project, but I will update you as soon as I figure it out.  Next week we will be attending the Navajo & Hopi Cultural Awareness Training.  Since some DOE sites are on tribal lands, this is very pertinent.  I’ll also get to tag along on inspections of sites in Nevada and Utah.  This is going to be a great summer…but what did I do to deserve all this?

    • jeslarsen
    • June 7th, 2010

    I’m very jealous of that kitchen! You’ll have to cook up some delicious meals in order to fully enjoy it while it lasts 🙂 Have fun, Maddy!

    • Erin Reichert
    • June 7th, 2010

    Hi Maddy! It sounds like things are off to a great start, with a model home for a rental. That’s awesome! I heard it was already over 100 degrees there. Phew! Try to stay cool. I’m excited to keep up with your internship through your blog. Erin

    • Teresa Roybal Rice
    • June 22nd, 2010

    Hi Maddy,
    You deserve everything the world has to offer. You’re amazing and brillant in my eyes! 🙂
    Miss you tons, but I’m so happy that you’re doing so well.
    Enjoy your internship and hope to see you again soon.
    With Love always, Teresa

    • phroomis
    • June 22nd, 2010

    Omfg! That kitchen! I am very jealous. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

