Changing Weather

Colorado is one of the most beautiful places I’ve been to. I’ve traveled to Europe (Cinque Terre, gorgeous), the east coast, up and down Cali, and still find moments when my breath is taken away from me. With the weather changing, the trees are being colored with nature’s paintbrush. There are golds, reds, and left over greens. The temperature is dropping and I’m starting to pull out my gloves and scarves (yep, this SoCal girl is ubber prepared).

However, the exact moment when I understood that the season has changed was when I saw the geese. Fort Collins, during the colder months, is home to hundreds of far traveled geese. No seriously. I have to drive to one of my classes to the Foothills Campus and all along the road (aside from the periodically meandering mare) are these random geese…that are just chillin’. I laugh out loud when I see them. They are just sitting there…doing absolutely nothing…just hanging with their homies…

I bring this up in order to remind both those who are hoping to start a grad program and myself that there are things outside of my textbooks. Tests, research, lab meetings, and all the jobs I take on require me to to spend hundreds of hours inside. Many of those places do not have windows…I’m not sure if that is to keep us from noticing time passing…or to prevent the light from glaring off the projector screen. Either way, it is a clever time-suck that keeps the average grad student ignorant of the outside world.

Luckily, my lab is equipped with a beautiful set of windows…so I know exactly when the light is gone and how many hours I’ve been their past sunset…

So, when you are planning your life in graduate school, make sure to schedule time outside your course work. You never know what you are going to miss.

  1. Thanks so much for sharing! I get more and more interested in Colorado the more I read about it… Geese hu? Just chillin lol that would make me laugh too.. Must be a SoCal thing haha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

